Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-16-2013, 12:43 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Four Best Lenses & the Self Survey

Out of curiosity, I did a self survey of photos taken during my last trip to Italy to find out what lenses gave me the best results. I took six of my favorite lenses with me and ranked them based on how many "keepers", and how many "top 40" images I got with each.
Keepers are the ones I flag in Lightroom, spend some time touching up, and will either print or make into videos to share, or both, garnering high praise and amazement from the general public.
Within that group of keepers, the Top 40 were photos that were good enough to include in a portfolio. I wanted to see what lenses were giving me the most reliable results, and if the same lenses were producing the most striking images.

Results are below, along with some notes about the lenses. Keep in mind I'm just a tiny step above amateur. This survey highlights the lenses that gave me, personally, the best result, either by being small enough to use inconspicuously, in focus and sharp (with my limited skills), or providing a focal range and perspective that gave me a striking image (again, with my limited experience). Or, in some cases, all of the above. I tried to give them all equal play time. The Italy trip was perfect testing grounds because there was a huge range of opportunity, mixed weather, all kinds of light, and 13 days of shooting!

Total shots taken: 1067
Total keepers: 255 (about 25%)

In order of success:

Pentax FA 43mm f/1.9 (29% of the keepers, 25% of the Top 40)

Sigma 10-20mm f/3.5 (25% of the keepers, 34% of the Top 40)

Pentax 70mm f/2.4 (13% of the keepers, 32% of the Top 40)

Pentax 15mm Limited f/4 (19% of the keepers, 7% of the Top 40)

Other lenses included in the survey but didn't make the top 4: Pentax 18-55 WR, and Pentax 50-200 WR