Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 9 Likes Search this Thread
10-25-2013, 12:35 AM   #1

Landscape lens?

Ok being a very new newbie, I don't quite understand what makes a great landscape/country roads lens? When everyone says a "wide angle", not really sure what that is. I *think* it should be a lower mm?
Is the DA 40 2.8 usable for these shots or not really?
Sorry for such a basic question

10-25-2013, 12:52 AM - 1 Like   #2

Indeed wide angle means a smaller focal length. 40mm on APS-C is not wide, just the opposite. A normal lens on APC-C would be around 35mm, everything below is wide angle, above is tele.

What focal length is best for landscape shots is a rather subjective question, though. I recently did a few autumn-forest shots and mainly used a 50mm. In the particular situation it gave me the pictures I wanted. At other times I can't get my 15mm of the camera.

If you are only starting out, as I did some years ago, I'd recommend getting an zoom lens first. Do you have the 18-55mm kit-lens? That's a good range for basic experiments with landscapes, if you find you need to go wider, look for something below 18mm. There are both very good wider zooms and primes to have. If you find you use the lens mostly around a certain focal length, consider getting a prime in that length.

If you find you are totally satisfied with what you get out of your current equipment, don't get anything new at all
10-25-2013, 01:43 AM - 1 Like   #3
Otis Memorial Pentaxian
Otis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis FanOtis Fan
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Check out the 15mm Limited thread in the Lens Clubs forum for what's possible when you shoot wide, NorthMole!
10-25-2013, 04:11 AM - 1 Like   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums