Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-19-2007, 01:16 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Gallery
Need some suggestions...

Hi,

I am a super noob here~

I just decided to graduate from P&S (Panasonic FZ-20) and going to get my first DSLR. After month of searching and reading, I was SO CLOSE to buy the Rebel XTi, then someone suggested me the K100D...

First of all, I would admit that I don't like Pentax at all, cuz my gf owns one compact P&S Pentax and I wasn't impressed at all @ picture qualities.

However, the RS really attracts me because ImageStabilizer on my FZ-20 was really useful... then I checked a lot of reviews and read a lot on this forum, I finally decide to get a K100D~

Finally, here is my question, what lens to get? There is a kit with 2 lenses which is very attractive, 18-55 and 50-200. Price is great and people seem to like them. But I plan to get a lens at least 300mm sooner or later...

(here is the better deal I could find in Montreal, local shop, CDN$)
Body only: 660$
w/ 15-55: 750$
w/ 2 lenses: 890$

1) Should I just stick with these 2 lenses for a while and forget the headache, shoot with FZ-20 if I need to shoot long distance?

2) or just get the 15-55, save 140$, sell my FZ-20 and get somethings like sigma 50-300?

If I go with option 2, there is another problem, the price of sigma is too high in town compare to the internet sources. (ebay...) How's everybody's experience shoppinig DSLR and lens on net? Should I be worrying about it?

Thx, appreciate it...

01-19-2007, 01:44 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Teko:

Welcome to the forum! I too came from the FZ-20 to the K100D. I think you will love the Pentax. I have the 18-55 kit lens and the 50mm f/1.4 prime. I thought about getting the Pentax 50-200, but have finally decided on the Tamron 70-300 Di LD. I really like the extra reach and the price is a little cheaper (in the US anyway). You might look into that as an option.
01-19-2007, 02:56 PM   #3
Veteran Member