Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
12-06-2013, 06:18 AM   #1
Veteran Member

DA21 sharpness at infinity

I'm looking for some input on how my DA21 is rendering at infinity. I'm new to DSLR's, purchasing both a K5 and a DA21 only this past September, so I don't have much of a baseline for comparison. Up till now, I've shot only "pseudo macros" and street scenes, and have been very pleased with the sharpness of the images. Recently, though, I've taken some shots near infinity and have found them not to hold up to any sort of crop.

Not discounting operator error (a real possibility) I was wondering if some of you might give me an opinion on the sharpness of this image, bearing in mind that it was handheld:

[IMG][/IMG]

What I'm curious about is whether falls within your definition of acceptable sharpness, or whether I need to pursue either better calibration with my camera, or consider sending the lens in for repair.

Here's another shot--this time taken with a tripod and with the 2-second shutter delay:[IMG][/IMG]

Thanks for taking time to help out--any thoughts on a future course of action greatly appreciated!

12-06-2013, 06:41 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I am not sure what exactly you are doing, but here is some general info about sharpness:

a) The DA21mm isn't the sharpest lens in the world. On the other hand, macro lenses are often spectacularly sharp. This means maybe you are used to sharper lenses, but that doesn't mean the DA21mm is bad. I have the DFA 100mm macro and it beats pretty much all my lenses in terms of sharpness and amount of detail rendered. But on the other hand, it doesn't have as much character as some other lenses. Sharpness is not everything
b) To get optimal sharpness you have to use a sturdy tripod and 2 sec timer, low ISO (so the photo isn't fuzzy) and an aperture value that gives you the DoF you need.