Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-17-2013, 08:42 AM   #1

Lens Sharpness -- the Ultimate Criterion

I am new at this hobby, and I have a couple of questions for the more experienced. I noticed that when looking for a lens, it seems that to many people, the ultimate criterion is obtaining a very sharp, or the sharpest lens. It appears that various other lens qualities or deficiencies, such as color rendition, bokeh, aberrations, focusing, contrast, etc. often take a backseat. For example, I will often see posts asking for recommendations for the sharpest lens in a particular focal range, with other lens qualities sometimes not even mentioned, or if they are mentioned, not being nearly as crucial.

Considering all of the qualities associated with a lens, the balance appears to tip clearly in favor of lens sharpness. Has the trend always been like this, or is this a more recent phenomenon? Is this something that is more characteristic of new photographers or amateurs, or is it characteristic of experienced photographers and pros alike? Just curious.

12-17-2013, 08:52 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Well, sharpness is very important. In my opinion it ranks right up there next to colour rendering. What's gone is gone, softness, artistic vignetting, or any other artsy vintage effects can be added in PP afterwards. (In the rare case that it is required.) But you can't add extra sharpness in PP from a soft image.

And yes, this is something that came together with the digital age. In the film days vignetting used to be a very desired feature of a lens. Softness too, you can still find some Pentax lenses around that are intentionally soft. Like the "FA 85 soft".
12-17-2013, 08:59 AM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums