Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-04-2014, 08:54 AM   #1
Inactive Account

wanting to uprate from the standard 18-55 kit lens

time moves on and I need more reach than the 18-55 kit lens.

I'm fairly new to shopping around when it comes to lenses and would much rather have some advice my options.

so far I think the 17-70 and 18-135 are viable options. I do like the idea of the 18-135 as it is WR like my 18-55.

what about the 18-250 or 18-270? does the 18-135 have better image quality?

At the moment I have the 18-55 WR and the 50-500 bigma with the M50mm prime for general walking. I will be getting something like a pentax 12-24 or the sigma 10-20 for wide angle in the near future, but the lack of throw on the 18-55 is starting to bother me.

01-04-2014, 08:58 AM   #2
Emperor and Senpai

I have the 18-135 and it seems to mostly live on my K5.
01-04-2014, 09:34 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
First Stages Of LBA?

Hello Lancer,
What you're finding is a pretty normal experience for newer DSLR shooters; The limitations of a kit lens. Eventually, if you acquire some better lenses, the limiting factor will then become the camera body. Sorry, but it's true. More MP, faster burst rate, better high-ISO performance, more features or performance.
For now, most of the user reports and reviews say the 18-135 is a better lens overall than the 18-55mm, 18-250 and 18-270. It certainly will provide more telephoto 'reach' than the 18-55mm, if that's what you need.
But zooms generally, and superzooms especially, come at a cost. Slower max apertures, which means some other part of the exposure 'triangle' (Aperture, Shutter Speed, ISO) must be sacrified. For example, with the 18-135mm, you can now shoot objects farther away, say a bird in flight. The image will be larger, because the telephoto effectively magnifies the image.