Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-08-2014, 12:41 PM   #1
Forum Member

Help with lens choice.

Hello guys!
I was wondering if you could give your opinion on what i am looking to buy. Or maybe someone had exactly the same choice to make.
Here's the thing - i own a Sigma APO DG 70-300mm, in my opinion it is pretty good for what you pay, but as everyone here, probably, knows - one always reaches for something better. So i did long research, and found 3 lenses in similiar reach and my 400-450 budget. They are 70-200mm Tamron f2.8 and Pentax' 55-300's, both - old one and new HD WR version. Yeah, and Tamron lens is the most expensive out of this lot.
I must say i am not a professional, just an amateur. Maybe there will be some occasional "important" shootings, but that is it. So that been said, i want to ask your opinion - Is that constant aperture of 2.8 worth an extra wallet juice and loss of extra 100mm of reach?
Sharpness would be important for me. Weight and size - not really.
Thanx!

01-08-2014, 01:03 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Without a doubt the 70-200 Tamron is a fine piece of glass, and if you can afford it, I would choose it in a heartbeat. So useful for so many situations. Wonderful portraits and fast indoor shooting...

It is big, but since weight and size are not an issue. It would be a great choice.
01-08-2014, 01:04 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery