Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-10-2008, 02:49 PM   #1

Which lenses do you actually USE?

As a K10 newbie, I'm currently very busy on planning my lens setup

I was thinking about three sets of lenses:

- "Quality" set (aim: IQ+good range): Ultra Wide angle Zoom, 24-60 f2.8, Fast Tele Zoom like 70-200 f2.8
- "portability" set (aim: small/lighw.): kit 18-55 and a Superzoom or Tele Zoom like 70-300 4-5.6
- Primes set (aim: available light/bokeh): 28, 50, 70 or 100(macro), all very fast

My question is, does it make sense to have so many lenses with overlapping focal ranges?
What are your experiences? Am I going to use, say a Superzoom or cheap tele while I have a fast Tele Zoom? Should I pick a macro lens or will extension tubes be fine? Do you really take the primes with you very often? Which combinations of lenses are in your bag when you go for a trip?

04-10-2008, 03:21 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
i don't believe in cheap lenses or superzooms. ymmv.

I have 4 lenses, and I use them all. I prefer to shoot the 35 or 77 (35 is more useful for my typical shooting), but sometimes I need the flexibility of a zoom. A good prime will beat the best zoom.
04-10-2008, 03:28 PM   #3
Inactive Account

I am having the same problem with packing for a trip next week to Asia but I think I have it right (please tell me quick if I haven't). I am taking my 28-300 tamron zoom (which isn't so good at the top end of the zoom but is pretty keen around 200 max), my 10-20 Sigma for those great landscape shots and freaky out-of-perspective architecture ones, and my 50mm 1.4 for those lovely evenings. I guess there's a lot of changing going to be going on but I think the zoom may be on there for the majority of the time just for ease. I have really enjoyed playing and learning with all of them but have to say that the 10-20mm and the 50mm prime are proving by far the favs. Good luck - Isi
04-10-2008, 03:43 PM   #4