Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-13-2014, 03:03 PM   #1

Understanding Lens Spec

Hello,

I'm just new in the field of photography and I just want to know if there is a way to correlate the lens spec (say 55-300mm) to magnification (say 3x, 4x etc.)? Thanks!

01-13-2014, 03:09 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The focal length corresponds to the field of view in degrees (not necessarily magnification). Check out this table for the conversions and look under the APS-C column:
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/54-pentax-lens-articles/93714-field-view-...d-645-6x7.html

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com's high server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover those costs by donating. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:

01-13-2014, 03:18 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by tadejesus2014 Quote
Hello,

I'm just new in the field of photography and I just want to know if there is a way to correlate the lens spec (say 55-300mm) to magnification (say 3x, 4x etc.)? Thanks!
When you say magnification, do you mean with respect to what compact cameras show? Or do you literally mean magnification as in, making small objects look big?
01-13-2014, 03:23 PM - 1 Like   #4
Pentaxian

You might be confusing a couple thing.