Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-13-2014, 03:50 PM   #1

Photos: Albums
Want one... but do I need one?

I have had my K-50 with 18-135WR a little over a month now and am really enjoying it but I'm starting to get that craving for a new lens. I've definitely got Lens Research Addiction (is that a new acronym? ha).

A big part of me is saying to just stick with the 18-135 for a while since I'm new to photography but wanted to get some opinions. Looking at the data for my keepers in Lightroom about 20% of my shots are at 18mm, 25% at 135mm, with the rest evenly distributed throughout the rest of the focal range.

When I purchased my K-50 my intention was to shoot mostly landscapes and architecture and I have been pleased with the results from the 18-135 in those areas. However, I'm developing an interest in wildlife/birds, and sports which is where I'm soon-to-be/already running into some limitations with my kit lens. As far as sports I'm interested in hockey, football, and being on the coast I have the opportunity to shoot surfers and some surf competitions.

I'm definitely in need of more focal range because I'm having to heavily crop most of the shots from 135mm to get them how I want which is sacrificing a lot of IQ. Until I get a better idea of what focal lengths I will like and use the most I'm going to stay away from primes.

Some of the lenses I've been looking into are Pentax HD 55-300WR, DA*50-135, DA*60-250, and Sigma 70-200. My thoughts are that if I'm going to spend $400-500 on a consumer level lens I would rather go ahead and spend the extra money and get a nice lens that I won't outgrow quickly. I don't have the disposable income for multiple lenses at this point so I'm looking for something that's versatile and can reasonably cover all my shooting interests for now.