Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-22-2014, 11:26 PM   #1
Forum Member

Revisiting the HD DA 20-40mm Limited

BACKGROUND

So I have been shooting Pentax for 7 years and a week ago I upgraded to the K3. In another thread, I mentioned that I also purchased a 20-40 and my preliminary report was that I wasn't impressed with the lens. But then I decided to be more thoughtful and less judgmental. In that same thread, I stated:

"By forcing myself to follow my normal workflow through completion of raw image development using Silkypix Pro, I am now better able to judge (vs just looking at tons of picks on my camera)..... The DA 20-40 is holding its own. It does exhibit that Pentax character in the images it produces. The bokeh is very nice, and it can be sharp and exhibit dimensionality, but not in every single image. This lens seems to have a gradually increasing sweet spot as you go from the upper 20s to 40mm. regarding noise, the 20-40/K3/Silkypix combo has resulted in some outstanding images (even with 1600 or 3200 ISO)."

I have spent additional time with the 20-40, but I didn't stop there. I purchased an FA31 to compare. The methodology was to shoot booth lenses at the same exposure (Aperture - 4.5, Shutter - 180, ISO - 100). I was indoors and used bounce flash to ensure consistent lighting. The 20-40 was set to 30/31 to match the field of view of the FA 31. The scene included various items (including stuffed animals courtesy of my daughters). Some were simple items with edges which could demonstrate sharpness. Other items were material and fuzzy (like fake fur) which could demonstrate detail. The scene also included a bunch of things about 5 feet in the background (furniture, picture frames, etc.). The 5 feet of distance allowed me to sample bokeh (alternating between focusing on the background and the main scene).

RESULTS TO DATE