Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-02-2014, 07:06 PM   #1
Forum Member

Reflex T Mount Mirror lens - best use?

Hi all,
I am relatively new to photography and I am wondering what the pros and cons of a reflex- mirror lens are? I am interested in a Sakar 500mm F8 Reflex T Mount lens with a K mount adapter. What is the best use for a lens like this? Would this lens be good for astrophotography or macro shots ?

Thanks.

02-02-2014, 07:15 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
It is a 500mm telephoto so usually used to bring far things close. Never heard of anyone using it for macro but with extension tubes you could I suppose.

That said those lenses are not that good, better to save for something better IMHO.
02-02-2014, 07:38 PM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
Thanks Jatrax for your help. In the listing it mentions it has a built in macro close up. I believe I can get the lens for $50 or less and it is the k mount adapter included. It seems that at that price it is a steal.
02-02-2014, 07:54 PM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
Don't know about the Sakar, but most mirror lenses don't focus all that close. Some are labeled as macro, and focus closer than other mirror lenses but you're not going to get 1:1 macro with a mirror lens.