Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-15-2008, 12:45 AM   #1

Cheap macro

Hello! I am looking for some oldie macro lens, but i am absolute beginner in macro photo! Can you suggest some lens.

P.S. Will use on k100d!

04-15-2008, 07:04 AM   #2
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by brr Quote
Hello! I am looking for some oldie macro lens, but i am absolute beginner in macro photo! Can you suggest some lens.
Buy a Raynox DCR-150 or DCR-250 close-up lens. These close-up attachments comprise three elements of optical glass, so they are very well corrected. They are equipped with an universal adapter, allowing to use them on any lens with a filter thread between 52 and 67mm. The DCR-150 (4.8 diopter) focusing distance is 210mm with a lens set to infinity (less when the lens is set to its minimum distance), and the DCR-250 (8 diopter) focusing distance is 109mm again with a lens set to infinity.

The big advantage of these attachments over teleconverters, extension tubes or bellows, is that they maintain the original lens aperture over the whole focusing range. If you have a 50/1.7 lens, it will remain an F/1.7 lens, even when used to shoot critters located 10cm from the image plane. Last but not least, they are quite affordable ($38.95 for the DCR-150 and $43.95 for the DCR-250 or $79.95 for both at B&H).

Cheers!

Abbazz
04-15-2008, 07:31 AM   #3

Photos: Gallery
If you wanna a lens take a look to this one if you can find one:

Phoenix AF 100mm f/3.5 Macro Telephoto Reviews

It's a "Phoenix" 100mm but optically it is like a vivitar. The magnification ratio goes up to 1:2 and with an adaptor can go to lifesize macro 1:1.

Extension tube are as cheap as close-up lens. As Abbazz was pointing out they change the aperture of your lens BUT they do not change the optical quality whereas close-up lenses do.
04-15-2008, 07:46 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Abbazz Quote