Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-23-2014, 10:10 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
Alt shooter looking at pentax lens options.

A little bit of info about me. I had been shooting canon since 2007 but had my 7d get bricked when exposed to saltwater a few months back. I had other financial issues at the time due to a move to florida and transitioning careers and was forced to sell about $4k worth of my lenses and was left with nothing.

I decided to get back into photography and chose to get a Sony A7 due to its ability to use manual focus glass with viewfinder focus peaking and magnification. I've started buying up manual glass and thought I would look at some Pentax offerings. I've always liked the images I've seen here (I've always browsed here even though I shot canon and the community here don't seem to be as big of gear snobs) and was wondering what some good lenses in k mount would be to try out. I am looking for a macro specifically, but am open to other suggestions as well. Thanks for any info.

02-23-2014, 10:23 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
SMC-M 100mm and 50mm Macro lenses are superb. Be sure to check out some of the screwmount lenses, too. Favorites include the Super Takumar 35mm f/3.5 and 135mm f/3.5. Both very compact, VERY sharp and give excellent colors on film.
02-23-2014, 10:26 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Have you looked at the lens ratings the forum members have given?

e.g.
Pentax M Prime Lenses - Reviews and Specifications - SLR and Interchangeable Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database
02-23-2014, 10:28 AM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
Thanks for the suggestions. I have been eyeing that SMC-M 100 and it looks like the iq is fantastic. I've always thought that the rendering and colors of pentax lenses was very nice.

On another note, how much of the pentax colors is due to camera processing of pentax cameras vs. the production of the lens?