Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-24-2014, 12:13 AM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Portrait Lens for K-x

i'm somewhat new to photography. I bought my first dslr last year the Pentax kx it came with the kit lens and also Tamron 28-300mm 2.5 or 3.5 (not sure). I'm looking for a good portrait lens for mostly kids and families. I have narrowed it down somewhat (I had a pretty long list of potentials considering this is my first time buyinga lens). The choices are Pentax da 50mm 1.8, tamron 90mm, and the random 28-75mm. I'm open to other suggestions too. These were just based on my research. Thank you

02-24-2014, 12:27 AM - 1 Like   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
The DA 50mm is a very good choice for a first prime lens, and it's great for portraits. It'll give you better bokeh than the kit lens and than the Tamron lenses you're considering.

We actually have a portrait lens guide here that you'll probably find helpful:
Beginner Portrait Lens Guide - Pentax Tutorial Videos - PentaxForums.com

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
02-24-2014, 12:35 AM - 1 Like   #3
Site Supporter

I've got both the DA35 and the DA50. They're both worthwhile budget primes. You can look in the photo sharing and galleries and albums to see pictures people have posted with these lenses.
02-24-2014, 03:31 AM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member

Hey, welcome!
I would suggest the DA 50mm f1.8 - it is sharp, has fast AF, and allows very shallow DoF for that dreamy bokeh.