Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
02-24-2014, 04:04 PM   #1
Forum Member

AF Fine Adjustment Settings

I'm still pretty new to all this, but last week bought a Pentax-D FA 100mm F2.8 WR Macro and ALL my autofocus shots were like mud. I bought a Datacolor SpyderLensCal SLC100 and determined (using tripods and leveling) that the lens back-focused so bad that on 10+ on my K5 it was still back-focused (but much less like mud). I got excited and calibrated all my lenses, maybe a mistake on the zooms - I can always take out the adjustment, but I have a couple of questions:

Once a good setting is established for a prime lens, will it need to be re-calibrated? What might cause it to need to be re-calbrated?

If I reset the camera to factory settings is all the AF Fine adjustment lost?

02-24-2014, 04:34 PM   #2
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by Gemvision Quote
I'm still pretty new to all this, but last week bought a Pentax-D FA 100mm F2.8 WR Macro and ALL my autofocus shots were like mud. I bought a Datacolor SpyderLensCal SLC100 and determined (using tripods and leveling) that the lens back-focused so bad that on 10+ on my K5 it was still back-focused (but much less like mud). I got excited and calibrated all my lenses, maybe a mistake on the zooms - I can always take out the adjustment, but I have a couple of questions:

Once a good setting is established for a prime lens, will it need to be re-calibrated? What might cause it to need to be re-calbrated?

If most of your other lenses are within a "reasonable" AF adjustment range (+/- 8 or so) and this one is +10 then you need to send the lens back.

Obviously if you need vast adjustments on most lenses (especially to the same side) you have a camera problem.