Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
03-08-2014, 06:20 AM   #1
Forum Member

50mm comparisions -- my head is spinning

I am new to Pentax and just bought a K5, which I LOVE! I have been reading and researching the 50mm for about a week and I still feel confused. My budget is no higher than $125/$150. From my understanding there are 4 different kinds

50mm M 1.7 -- all manual
50mm A 1.7 -- auto
50mm FA 1.7
50mm F 1.7

What is the FA & F?

I know I have a crop frame and these are closer to a 75mm.

03-08-2014, 06:29 AM   #2
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
F was the first AF lens series made by Pentax, from 1986 to 1991.

FA was the second series of AF lenses made by Pentax, from 1991 to the present (FA 50/1.4).

Pentax K-Mount Lenses Explained: The differences between various Pentax lens series

The A 50/1.7 is well within your budget. The F might be available for less than $150, the FA is somewhat rare and usually more expensive (though I got mine for $100 on craigslist).

Pentax Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database

Pentax M 50mm f/1.7 samples - PentaxForums.com
SMC Pentax A 50mm F1.7 Samples - PentaxForums.com
Pentax F 50mm f/1.7 samples - PentaxForums.com
SMC-FA 50mm 1.7 - PentaxForums.com
03-08-2014, 06:32 AM   #3
Veteran Member

50 mm is 50 mm is 50 mm regardless of sensor. They will all be like 75 mm lenses on a crop sensor.

M requires green button to meter. I would avoid this one.
A does not and also allows PTTL flash metering. A good inexpensive choice if you are willing to forgo autofocus.
F adds auto focus. I carry a 50mm F 1.7 almost all the time. I'm not upgrading until I get a serious bargain.
FA adds slightly better flash automation.
03-08-2014, 07:23 AM   #4
Forum Member

Original Poster
These are great resources! I was looking through the F & FA examples (I also looked on Flickr) and some of the bokeh on the F looks smeared like. Is that from user error?