Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 1 Like Search this Thread
03-12-2014, 03:03 PM   #1

Pentax 300mm f/4 DA - noisy SDM

Hi all! I'm new to pentax, I am a Nikon shooter. I just got my first pentax setup K-3+300mm f4 SDM. First question about it since I have never used pentax let alone a SDM lens in the past. The AF has a slight squeak when starting AF operation. It doesn't do it through the whole focal range. Is this normal?

I once bought a brand new NIkon 300mm f2.8 that squeak through the whole focal range and was told the AF motor needed replacing. I wanted to know if this was the same situation. Thanks!

03-12-2014, 03:05 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Mine does not squeak - if yours is new I would ask for a replacement. Even if nothing wrong mechanically the AF should be silent.
If it is a used copy then it could be that the SDM is about to go out maybe?
03-12-2014, 03:17 PM   #3

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by crewl1 Quote
Mine does not squeak - if yours is new I would ask for a replacement. Even if nothing wrong mechanically the AF should be silent.
If it is a used copy then it could be that the SDM is about to go out maybe?
Thanks. I'm not seeing too much about this doing a quick Google search either so I'm assuming it's not normal.
03-12-2014, 05:30 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
It should not be noisy. Mine is nearly silent.

03-12-2014, 06:00 PM   #5

Original Poster
I got an RMA for it but they don't have it in stock so it's just going back. I'm going to try using greentoe to get a better deal on one. I've heard good things from them.
03-21-2014, 05:06 PM   #6

Original Poster
0 for 2 now. I posted a video this time. Considering this is the only SDM lens I've ever tried my confidence in the product is shot.

I think this one is worse than the first....
Recorded from K-3 with external mic:

Recorded with iPhone:
03-21-2014, 09:20 PM   #7
Site Supporter
Site Supporter