Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 7 Likes Search this Thread
03-18-2014, 12:47 PM   #16
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by Vejas Quote
When samyang will do that or this is just rumors ? and question how accurate their autofocus will be
have you tried use samyang with catch-in-focus function ?
It is just rumor so far.. Currently we do not know anything about their autofocus.

I have no experience on the catch-in-focus function for Samyang. Basically I am in the same situation as you. I am also considering a portrait lens among Samyang 85/DA 70/FA 77. It is a hard decision but I am not in hurry as I find DA 50 1.8 is a very sharp lens and also good for portrait (especially indoor!). And for indoor portrait, I just doubt Pentax's standard portrait lens DA*55 can do better than DA 50 as the former is very soft at 1.4.

03-18-2014, 01:12 PM   #17
MSL
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
even with catch-in-focus function ?
On the K-5 the focus spots are a lot larger than they appear in the view finder. So CIF isn't going to ensure that the eyes are in focus, if that is what you are aiming for, just some random region near the eyes. And since some part of the face is going to be in focus most of the time, you'll end up taking a lot of shots that won't quite be what you want. I figure I have better luck waiting for my victim to sit still than to try CIF, but neither method is ideal. Note that this is an exercise I do for my own fun more than anything else; it certainly isn't a technique I'd use if I was shooting a fixed photo session.
03-18-2014, 01:14 PM - 1 Like   #18
Veteran Member