Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-19-2008, 10:30 AM   #1

Questions about the new DA35 Macro Limited

I am a newbie and interested in this lens because I want a prime in this focal length and plan to do macro shots (flowers, watches, nature, maybe bugs), so it seems a perfect for many reasons (IQ, features, price, etc). I also plan to get a longer focal lenth macro too.....

However, before I buy, I have some questions I was wondering if you could answer to help this newbie out.

1) The pics in macro mode I have seen here have really shallow depth of field. It is possible to get macro shots with a little more depth of field with this lens? (Examples would be appreciated)

2) Is a focal length of 35mm best for taking macro shots of watches?

3) (Please bear with me on this one) The DA35 shots among the examples in the following thread look the least attractive to me. They are dark, don't seem sharp, etc.

https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/218664-post59.html

While the M40@f/2.8 shots looks the best in my eyes, they were rated "worst". I'm not sure why or what I am supposed to be looking at. But if my eyes are telling me this, I am wondering if I should foget this lens and find a simple prime around 35mm without macro.

Anyway, thanks for any thoughts on this.

04-19-2008, 10:38 AM   #2
Veteran Member

welcome to the forum!

1. this macro will have the most depth of field out of any macro you can buy because of its short focal length. just need to increase the aperture a bit.
2. may not be that great for watches because the working distance is extremely close making lighting very difficult
3. i think in that example, the details are very close

take a look at Benjikan's album that he linked to in here for more DA35 samples
https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/pentax-slr-lens-discussion/25506-can-anyo...o-limited.html