Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 4 Likes Search this Thread
04-01-2014, 02:13 AM   #1

Which filters to FA 31mm & DA* 60-250?

I've just bought the FA 31mm and the DA* 60-250mm, they are now on their way, and I would of course like too treat these like little babies. I know almost nothing about the filter universe, don't even know if one filter will fit both lenses.

Now, being a rookie, my questions might offend someone - but as we all know you can both protect the front glass and get rid of reflections etc. by using filters. What I need is the protection offered and in addition a filter that is not too strong, just taking the worst of reflections, as I mainly take photos of landscape and architecture.

However, most of the reviews on the WWW that I ran into are outdated - some reviews dates back even as late as 2008. Not useful, as I gather everything has evolved since then.

On the FA 31mm I know that you have to be especially careful for which filters you screw on this lens-lady. Fact is, that some of them will touch the front glass of this lens, as the glass is arched. I don't even DARE to think what will happen to for instance the coating then. So - the filter ring has to have an adequate height to prevent this gruesome scenario.

On Youtube I've seen a video by a fairly competent guy, who recommends a filter named Hoya 58mm Super HMC Multicoated. If anyone can support this (or give a cheaper alternative with similar quality), I'd be most happy to hear about this (it's rather an expensive fellow, that Hoya-filter - isn't it?)

Also, a short review of the Sigma EX DG UV Filter can be found at Sigma EX DG UV Filter reviews - Pentax Camera Accessory Review Database. Anyone who know if this will fit the FA 31mm - or indeed the DA* 60-250mm?

And is the front glass of the DA* 60-250 just as arched as the one on the FA 31mm - meaning similar precautions must be taken?