Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-17-2014, 05:05 AM   #1
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
Lens for bellows

Hi!

I bid on a bellows unit and meanwhile I wonder what lens would be the most suitable. I have never used one before.

Do you prefer more light / speed (like my M50/1.7 or M85/2) or close focusing ability (like M100/4 macro)?

Do I focus with the lens or with the bellows unit? Or both?

Seb

04-17-2014, 05:56 AM   #2
Pentaxian

The shorter the focal length the greater the magnification
You will need to have a lens with a manual aperture ring
Focusing is usually done with the bellows. the lens focus is small in comparison to the bellows
An old 50 or 100mm macro lens will possibly provide the best flat field (not sure if my opinion is correct) Your M50 sounds like the perfect lens to start with. I have a 100mm macro lens with an old primitive aperture which requires an aperture lens ring to be turned.
Best subjects will be ones that don't move
There is a large fall off of light as you extend the bellows so the f stop does not provide constant light as you focus

Have fun experimenting
04-17-2014, 05:58 AM   #3
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
You can mount pretty much any lens to a bellows, though I have found that 50mm to 100mm works well on account of working distance. The traditional bellows lens was a 100mm with no focus mechanism (e.g. Bellows Takumar 100/4). Lens speed is not particularly important. I generally use my Pentax-M 50/1.7.