Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2014, 04:49 AM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
18-135 WR Severe Back Focus on K-30

I did a focus check after some really out of focus shots and it appears that this lens is back focusing quite a bit on my K-30. All my other lens do not present such a problem. I have it almost corrected but ran out of available adjustment, Right now, it's at +10, and it looks like another 2 or 3 is needed to get it perfect. Is this something that needs to get sent back for 'calibration'? I've never done this before and just curious if this is an appropriate course of action.
Thanks!

05-12-2014, 05:12 AM   #2
Veteran Member

There are a couple courses of action.

If you bought it new and less than 30 days ago, return it to the vendor and ask for an exchange for a different one.

If bought new and more than 30 days but less than 1 year, send it off to CRIS. You have 2 options here. You can send the lens alone and they will adjust/calibrate it to a master camera they have that is known for good AF adjustment. Or you can send your camera in with the lens and they will adjust/calibrate your lens and camera together.

If out of warranty, you can still send it in to CRIS. They will evaluate the lens and contact you with a quote before they do any work. Then you can either pay the quote, or deny it which they will then send the lens back to you.
05-12-2014, 05:12 AM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by dcpropilot Quote