Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-30-2008, 12:57 PM   #1
Site Supporter

50mm f/1.4 Focus Issues

I'm new to the DSLR game -- just last week I purchased a K20D with the well-regarded Pentax 50mm f/1.4 prime lens, and it's my first SLR. (Before that, I found myself using manual, shutter-priority, and aperture-priority modes on my pocket camera more than I expected, so I knew I needed more.)

Anyway, I have a new baby, and given my fairly limited funds, I initially wanted a lens that would be good for non-flash portraits. The 50mm lens, combined with the K20D's high-ISO performance, both seem to work great for that purpose.

But I am seeing some autofocus anomalies I hope someone can shed some light on. Since I have only that one lens, I don't know whether I am seeing a lens problem, a body problem, or something within the range of normal behavior. I'm getting poor focusing results, and if I try to compensate for it using the lens-specific AF calibration function, I can get it to be accurate at either short range or long range, but not both.

Here's the background. While playing with the combo and trying to see how shallow the DOF was at f/1.4, I tried to take a picture of my cat in front of the fireplace, using the single center-point autofocus mode, with the focus obtained from the cat's collar. (All of the photos in this post, by the way, were taken in Av mode at f/1.4.)

As you'll see below, the cat is quite out-of-focus, but the fabric on the baby swing to the left (a few feet in front of the cat) is pretty clear. You can see all the faint Winnie-the-Poohs without too much trouble. The cat is maybe 12 feet away from me, and the seat is 2-3 feet closer, so on a percentage basis that's a pretty big error. Here's a cropped reduction: