Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-05-2014, 08:52 AM   #1

Newbie trying to decide what portrait lens to add!

Hi! I have had the KX for 3 years which is my first dslr. My dad had the K1000 with a few lens growing up so I have those now (which helped me decide to go with Pentax). I finally started shooting exclusively in manual for over a year now, but feel like I still have so much to learn.

My question is regarding portrait lens. I have done so much reading about portrait lens, but would like some personal input please :-) I sew a lot for my 17 month old daughter and enjoy taking pictures of her outfits. Sometimes I enter contests with pattern designers and I have had pattern designers use my photos as well. A quality lens with sharp clear focus and beautiful bokah is my objective. Currently I'm shooting with my dad's M 50mm 1:2, but I feel like I have trouble getting it in clear focus. Like I said, I'm still new to terminology and perhaps my settings are wrong. I also have my dad's SMC-A Pentax 80-200 and a Sears 135mm 2.8 (which I have not tried for portrait!). From research it looks like the Samyang 85mm 1.8 would be a good lens to purchase. Would this be a better lens than the 135mm lens I have?

06-05-2014, 09:28 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Hey, welcome! Awesome, we love manual lens users here!

The Samyang is definitely a great portrait lens, but from what I read it is not easy to focus at all. The DoF is very shallow, and the DSLR viewfinders cannot really represent it accurately.