Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
07-02-2014, 09:03 AM   #1

Photos: Albums
Lens has a little oil on blades, is this an issue?

Hello,

I recently acquired a new lens, and notice a tiny bit of what I think is oil. I'm not an expert, so I googled pictures of oil on blades and generally mine seems like "a joke" compared to what others have. My question is, will this oil affect my lens? During my research, I understand oil can affect the ability for the lens to close its blades quickly and could also splatter onto the glass and ruin it.

Here are some photos taken with my phone...I tried to the best of my ability to get quality photos but I think they show you enough.. The litte black dots or smeers is what I'm talking about. Should I consider getting the lens cleaned?

Thanks.

Attached Images
View Picture EXIF
 Photo 
View Picture EXIF
 Photo 
07-02-2014, 09:08 AM   #2
Giveaway winner!

QuoteOriginally posted by Zealex Quote
I recently acquired a new lens
Which lens is this? If it is a recently manufactured, could you exchange it?

A dot of oil on an old lens can get worse over time based on temperature.
07-02-2014, 09:12 AM   #3

Original Poster
Pentax A 100mm/2.8. I could only return it, or get it cleaned (but I hear that's very expensive).
07-02-2014, 09:15 AM   #4
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
If you're really worried send it to Eric...

Home

I think a lens CLA is less than $50.

07-02-2014, 09:48 AM   #5

Original Poster
So since oil can get worse, but it's not bad yet, I should be on the safe side and just send it in? Everyone here seems to state Eric has magical powers :P
07-02-2014, 10:07 AM   #6
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yes, send it to Eric. That's not a lens that is common, it is worth taking care of. Talk to Eric, he is very reasonable and does excellent work.
07-02-2014, 10:21 AM   #7

Original Poster