Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
08-03-2014, 01:28 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Help with chosing ultra wide "portable" fast lens

Hi pentaxians!

i would like to ask you for hints and suggestion for my upcoming purchase

I would like to buy some fast, lighweight ultra wide lens for my hiking and reportage/concert shooting

my portfolio so you could check yourself what i am talking about if interested : www.romansolar.com

What i am looking for?
- fast, sharp even wide open lens for concert/indoor shooting.
- ultra wide lightweight lens for my hiking needs
- no need for having AF, could be used M42 lens also
- i have no experience with fisheye, but due to crop factor maybe it could work for me also without corners I know fisheye is not about corners but i saw images from sigma 15mm fisheye and it looks acceptable for my landscape work

My thoughts
- i own M28 2,8 - very light, but not too wide, not so sharp wide open
- i own Samyang 14mm, great sharp even wide open, wide enough, VERY heavy i am going to sell it/exchange it

budget, i think about 400$, around this price. BUT i am welcoming any suggestion folks. APPRECIATE

08-03-2014, 01:33 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

QuoteOriginally posted by romansolar Quote
Hi pentaxians!

i would like to ask you for hints and suggestion for my upcoming purchase

I would like to buy some fast, lighweight ultra wide lens for my hiking and reportage/concert shooting

my portfolio so you could check yourself what i am talking about if interested : www.romansolar.com

What i am looking for?
- fast, sharp even wide open lens for concert/indoor shooting.
- ultra wide lightweight lens for my hiking needs
- no need for having AF, could be used M42 lens also