Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-11-2008, 03:23 PM   #1

Photos: Gallery
Trying to decide on zoom lens

Hello to group, and thank you for welcoming me to introduce myself. I am just starting out in manual SLR film photography and have already put together what I think is a good starting outfit. Here's what I have:

-Pentax KX black body in mint pristine condition (hard to find an original manual, but I'm looking)
-Pentax SMC 1:1.8 55mm prime
-Pentax SMC 1:2 55mm prime
-Pentax SMC-M 1:2 50mm prime
-Pentax SMC-M 1:3.5 28mm prime
-Takumar (Bayonet) 1:2.5 135mm prime
-Spiratone 2X teleconverter
-JC Penney 1:4.5 80-200mm macro zoom (This one is crap, trying to replace and hoping for recommendations)
-Soligar closeup set +1, +2, +4
-Various filters (B&W, Hoya)
-Pentax K1000 in mint condition with original box for backup (I'm not sure if this camera was ever used)

Here's a real nooooob question: What are the reasons or advantages for using a standard focusing zoom over a macro focusing zoom for, say, far off subjects such as landscapes or wildlife? I am thinking of buying a Vivitar (Series 1) Macro Zoom 1:3.5 70-210mm, but should I look for a standard focusing lens if I'm not going to use it for closeup work?

I am also looking for a medium focal length zoom----I let a Pentax SMC 1:3.5 40-80mm 2 ring get away.

Thanks,

05-11-2008, 04:25 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
My recommendations would be the Pentax-A 35-70mm and 70-210mm lenses. Both can do macro at 70mm so even if that's not something you plan on doing, the option is still available. I've taken very good close-up with both of these lenses. If you watch the listings here and on eBay, you can probably pick up both lenses for the price of a single S1 zoom.
05-12-2008, 11:25 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I have found the S1 70-210 F3,5 macro zoom to be an excellent lens.