Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home
 

Reply
Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-12-2008, 03:22 AM   #1
Senior Member




Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 198
Pentax smc F50mm f1.7

I have had this lense for sometime now and haven't used on my DSLR's (DS or K10D). I usually shot motorsport or landscape and use sigma EX lenses.

Well I went out over the weekend to use the 50mm and found it was brilliant indoors sharp as it was on my MZS, the issue is when outdoors it consistantly overs exposes in any f stop or speed on either dslr.

Does this lens need to be rechipped?

05-12-2008, 04:20 AM   #2
Veteran Member




Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 366
I don't think so.
05-12-2008, 05:14 AM   #3
Junior Member




Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 34
My M50mm f1.7 meters fine indoors or out on my K100D. Have you enabled the aperture ring in the Custom Setting menu? I have a feeling that if you don't do that it only works at maximum aperture, which might explain your over-exposing in bright light.
05-12-2008, 08:10 AM   #4
New Member




Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 9
my F50 1.7 meters correctly on my k10d. perhaps you tested it under harsh lighting conditions?

05-12-2008, 01:26 PM   #5
Veteran Member
ericc's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Western Oklahoma
Posts: 406
Russell,

Different lenses will behave differently on your camera. I find there is +-1 stop among various DA, F, M, and DA* lenses that I own. I just keep a mental note of which tend to over/under expose and I check the histograms often.

If you don't like that F50/1.7, I'll be happy to take it off your hands. I "only" own 3 of them at the moment and would happily take a 4th.
05-12-2008, 01:46 PM   #6
Junior Member




Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edinburgh, UK
Posts: 39
QuoteOriginally posted by RussellW Quote
I have had this lense for sometime now and haven't used on my DSLR's (DS or K10D). I usually shot motorsport or landscape and use sigma EX lenses.

Well I went out over the weekend to use the 50mm and found it was brilliant indoors sharp as it was on my MZS, the issue is when outdoors it consistantly overs exposes in any f stop or speed on either dslr.

Does this lens need to be rechipped?
Are using the lens with the aperture set to A? If you aren't and your DSLR is the K10D then you are experiencing the stop down metering problem that is unique to that model. (and possibly the K20D, not sure about that)

If that's the problem, simply use the lens set to A and control the aperture electronically and it'll be fine.

Another possibility: does the lens stop down quickly and without hesitation? If the aperture blades were dirty or oily then the iris might be lagging and letting in too much light.

Matthew
05-15-2008, 12:28 AM   #7
Senior Member




Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 198
Original Poster
Well I have tried the lens with A and with through the f stops, I also tried the A prohbited and not prohibited in custom field area in both cameras, still over expouses when out doors.

I want to keep the lens as it produces great shots in doors. So I'm off to a camera repair place in Sydney to see what they can find wrong either we me or the lens.

Will keep you posted, thanks to the replies.

Cheers
Russell
05-15-2008, 04:20 AM   #8
Junior Member




Join Date: May 2008
Location: Canberra, Australia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 34
If you have the aperture ring enabled, then try setting the camera mode to M(anual) program, select your preferred aperture, then press the green button on the camera (I think its green, I use the K100D and its the depth of field button on them). This should give you a shutter speed that is pretty close to correct.
Hope you figure it out. These old lenses are magnificent.

05-15-2008, 04:24 AM   #9
Banned




Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Savannah, U.S./Baguio City, P.H.
Posts: 5,979
QuoteQuote:
(and possibly the K20D, not sure about that)
its a problem with any pentax camera with a 'crippled' mount which includes all K series DSLR's
05-26-2008, 11:27 PM   #10
Senior Member




Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Photos: Gallery
Posts: 198
Original Poster
Well I picked up the lens from Camera service centre here in Sydney, They dismantled the lens which included the removing of the Aperture assembly then clean and adjusted.

Now it's like new.
I'm one happy chappie..

Cheers to those who answered.
Reply

Bookmarks
  • Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook
  • Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter
  • Submit Thread to Digg Digg
Tags - Make this thread easier to find by adding keywords to it!
k-mount, pentax lens, slr lens
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - Sold: Pentax F50mm/1.7, Like New in Box dgaies Sold Items 3 07-13-2010 05:34 PM
For Sale - Sold: Pentax F50mm f1.7 , K28mm f3.5 Gr8erimage Sold Items 5 12-22-2009 10:43 AM
For Sale - Sold: Pentax F50mm f1.7 ivoire Sold Items 5 09-26-2009 10:11 PM
For Sale - Sold: Pentax F50mm/1.7 dumrox Sold Items 5 04-20-2009 12:28 PM



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:28 AM. | See also: NikonForums.com, CanonForums.com part of our network of photo forums!
  • Red (Default)
  • Green
  • Gray
  • Dark
  • Dark Yellow
  • Dark Blue
  • Old Red
  • Old Green
  • Old Gray
  • Dial-Up Style
Hello! It's great to see you back on the forum! Have you considered joining the community?
register
Creating a FREE ACCOUNT takes under a minute, removes ads, and lets you post! [Dismiss]
Top