Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
09-30-2014, 10:28 PM   #1

Why Set Manual Focal Length?

First a tiny bit of background. I used canon DSLRs for ten years. The end.

I have no experience using manual lenses on a modern DSLR, well almost none, I had a K10D and kind of played around with one lens, but not much. I just have no idea what the reason for setting the focal length is, and what happens if you don't set it correctly, which I have forgotten to do when switching between my 50mm and 28mm lenses.

TIA!

09-30-2014, 10:32 PM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by almo Quote
First a tiny bit of background. I used canon DSLRs for ten years. The end.

I have no experience using manual lenses on a modern DSLR, well almost none, I had a K10D and kind of played around with one lens, but not much. I just have no idea what the reason for setting the focal length is, and what happens if you don't set it correctly, which I have forgotten to do when switching between my 50mm and 28mm lenses.

TIA!
It's so that the in-camera shake reduction system knows how much camera shake to compensate for. Conveniently, the focal length is also stored in the exif data.

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
09-30-2014, 10:51 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

You might note that it isn't necessary for modern auto focus lenses which automatically input that data -- it's only required when using lenses without data transfer contacts.

The great advantage is that SR is available even for older manual focus lenses.