Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
10-14-2014, 09:09 AM   #1

Good walk around lens suggestions

Hi,

I am new to Pentax and I have to say I'm a bit confused with the lenses compatibility. Seems like some older lenses will work on the new DSLR but won't have the auto focus?

Anyway, I am looking for a good walk around lens. Something around 18mm to 70mm (something around there). Does anyone of you have a suggestion. basically I would like to replace the kit lens. I don't find it all that great.

If any of you have suggestions for a lens like that, new or used, it would be appreciated.

Thank you all!

10-14-2014, 09:15 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
18-135mm comes to mid as possible upgrade. Other than that - I would look at primes. If you aren't scared learning - then manual primes will give you amazing quality images for fairly little money. Modern AF lenses will hit you quite a lot. Anyway the best place for you to go right now is : reviews section of forum

Pentax Lens Reviews
Third-Party Lens Reviews

All but M42 screw lenses will fit and works well. With non-autofocus lenses you of course will need to focus manually. SMC-A lenses will give you auto exposure (but still manual focus ).
10-14-2014, 09:25 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

There are lots of options depending on your budget, both Pentax and third party. I had the Sigma 17-70 for awhile and it was a good lens. I now have the Pentax 16-50 and I really like it. The Pentax 18-135 or 16-45 are less expensive options. You could also wait for the new Pentax 16-85 announced at Photokina, although I haven't seen the release date or anticipated pricing yet.
10-14-2014, 09:32 AM   #4
PEG Moderator
Loyal Site Supporter

Location: Highlands of Scotland... "Hold Infinity in the palm of your hand" - William Blake
Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by tranceplante Quote
Good walk around lens suggestions