Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
11-07-2014, 09:19 AM   #1
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
How do you actually use your 60-250?

I've been using the 60-250 for about two years, first with the K20D and now with the K-3. and in all that time, I've used the supplied tripod foot maybe 3 times.

a lot of people complain that the lens is heavy. That's true, but I often find myself carrying it mounted on the camera, held by a basic neoprene strap around my neck. I simply have not felt the need for more stability and more support.

How do you guys carry and use the 60-250? I guess the question also applies to user of long primes such as the 300.

11-07-2014, 10:17 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

First, I wish I had a 60-250 to carry around but I don't. Seeing your question may be a little more about large lenses in general I do have a DA*300 and a Tamron 70-200/2.8 which are both large and have tripod collars. I seldom use either on a tripod, mostly handheld. I don't use neck straps on my cameras, that goes back a couple years ago when I was having a neck problem. At that time I switched to a Black Rapid shoulder sling, which I feel is infinitely superior to a neck strap for me. I screw the strap into the tripod collar's socket and that's how I carry it. The lens is heavier than the camera and needs the support more, it is also balanced this way, which is why the collar is positioned where it is. If all of the support is on the camera there will be a lot of stress on the mount of the camera and the lens. I've personally never heard of a mount breaking but they could. I remember an article that wildlife photographer George Lepp wrote in Outdoor Photographer recently, where he mentioned hearing the sounds of cracking mounts when writing about support of large lenses (sorry, I can't quote it exactly) so it must have happened before.