Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 29 Likes Search this Thread
11-26-2014, 01:12 PM - 6 Likes   #1
Veteran Member

My Totally Biased and Unabashed Personal Lens Recommendations

I've been seeing a lot of "Please help me choose a lens" threads lately, and I can understand it. It takes a lot of time and effort to read all the reviews, learn MTF charts, read more reviews from other sites, read marketing literature and then figure out what to buy in your budget.

What makes me an expert? Probably nothing, but what I have done is owned many of the lenses or it's contemporaries over the last 10 years that I have been in Digital Photography. I have logged hundreds, possibly thousands of hours reading reviews and mtf charts for these lenses, and I have shot 10's of thousands of pics with these lenses. I am not a pro, but I consider myself an advanced amateur. I do not have an unlimited budget, but this is nearly a self financing hobby, so I have justified expenses accordingly.

Below is a summary of what I would buy/have bought/currently use (and would consider worthy of a Pro's kit) and I'm offering it as a starting point for all the questions of "What lens should I buy.." with the caveat that I am a zoom shooter (gasp of horror) because of my style and locations. So if IQ is your first priority, followed by versatility and price here's your choices:

Sigma 10-20 f4-5.6 - Yes it's 5.6 but this is a landscape lens and if you are shooting below f8 you are doing something wrong.
Tamron 17-50 f2.8 - I have owned the sigma 17-70, sigma 17-50, sigma 20-40, pentax fa20-35, da15, da40, fa35 all in this focal length. The Tamron wins for flare control + sharpness + diffraction control + versatility + price. This is really where my zoom bias comes into play. Honorable Mention goes to the Sigma 18-35, but it's an $800 lens and I'm not sure one can get 2-3x as much quality out of it.