Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-02-2014, 03:21 PM   #1
Veteran Member

VIVITAR 85mm - 205mm lens screw on lens?

Hello all,

I am a Pentax newbie who recently bought a Pentax K-3. I was just going through my local craigslist to see if I can find any good used lenses and found an old VIVITAR 85mm - 205mm screw on lens for about $25. I know that its an old manual focus lens but for that price I am super tempted to buy. Even if I wont carry it with me all the time, I can use it to take photos of moon once in a while.

I looked up on pentaxforums lens reviews and found decent reviews:
Vivitar 85-205mm f/3.8 Lens Reviews - Vivitar Lenses - Pentax Lens Review Database

My question is, would it fit K-mount or do I need an adapter? Also, anything else I should know/ask before I buy the lens? How do I check the lens for fungus or mold?

Thank you.

12-02-2014, 03:27 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Albums
If the lens is in M42 mount then your Pentax K mount adapter will allow you to use it.
12-02-2014, 08:45 PM   #4
Pentaxian

My suggestion is that unless you're buying old lenses as a hobby in itself (which is ok), it makes no sense to buy a lens like the one you're talking about. As a practical matter it would be inconvenient to use for general-purpose photography: not just manaul focus, but manual aperture, stop-down metering, manual SR setting, and the need for an adapter. You can buy a nearly-new zoom that with greater range that will generally outperform almost any '70s-'80s zoom, and have all the automated features, for 3-4x the price. If you can afford a new K3, an extra $50-$75 for a lens shouldn't be that big a deal.

12-02-2014, 10:01 PM   #5
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery