Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-22-2008, 03:49 AM   #1

Sigma 17-70 and Macro function

Hi everyone,

I'm new to DSLR's and SLR's for that matter. I have had my k10d and sigma 17-70 lense for about a month and this forum is certainly helping me to learn how to use it so I thank you all for that.

My question relates to the macro function on this lense. Theres nothing in the instructions on how to activate it so my assumption is that to shoot in macro all I need to do is extend the zoom (to 70) and then get within .2 of a metre (thats noted on the lense) of what I want to shoot and then the lense somehow knows it needs to go macro. Can someone enlighten me on this??

thanks
Jake

05-22-2008, 04:00 AM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
If you rotate the zoom ring, you can see the different ratios between real life size of object and the size of object on the sensor. The ratio depends on the focal length and the distance between front lens element and object (focusing or working distance). Basically each lens has this ratio, but it is called macro, when it is close to 1:1. Higher than that it is a "micro".
1:1 means, that if the subject is 23.5mm wide, if will fill up the whole sensor width (the whole image).
There is 0.2m on the lens as the closest focusing distance, but from my experiences, you can focus literally ON the front lens element.

Oh, and: welcome to the forums!
05-22-2008, 04:44 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by pentagor Quote
There is 0.2m on the lens as the closest focusing distance, but from my experiences, you can focus literally ON the front lens element.

You've got that right. I was taking a photo of this crab (see link) and I manually focused down and just moved the camera, at one point I actually bumped into the crab!

20080413-IMGP1652.jpg photo - palmor photos at pbase.com

John
05-22-2008, 05:34 AM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by palmor Quote