Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 2 Likes Search this Thread
12-07-2014, 02:00 AM   #1
Inactive Account

I am about to purchase a K-3 and need help with lenses.

Please bear with me as I am new to Pentax. There seems to be many different variety or naming of Pentax prime lenses. I have read up on the FA31 limited, but that would have to be my only lense for the time being due to price. I love primes and don't mind moving around and walking. At the same time I am looking for a fast zoom for easy travel with the kids. What would your reccomendations be for a 35mm equivalent 35mm, 50mm, and a zoom 24-70 f2.8. I am looking in the prince range of around $500 or less per prime. Thanks in advance.

12-07-2014, 07:21 AM   #2

Photos: Gallery
I'm new to pentax too, and while I purchased the two cheap DA primes when I bought the K-3, I'm really happy with my zoom purchase. I grabbed the Sigma 17-50 2.8. It's been fantastic so far. Sharp and relatively fast.

Next on my purchase list is the Tamron 70-200 2.8. Good luck with your purchases
12-07-2014, 08:00 AM   #3
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by tfe691 Quote
I love primes and don't mind moving around and walking. At the same time I am looking for a fast zoom for easy travel with the kids. What would your reccomendations be for a 35mm equivalent 35mm, 50mm, and a zoom 24-70 f2.8. I am looking in the prince range of around $500 or less per prime. Thanks in advance.
The DA 50 f/1.8 and DA 35 f/2.4 are great choices - I only have the 35 but love it, the image quality can compete with lenses that cost twice as much and more. It is not as fast as would be expected from most primes though.