Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-08-2014, 02:14 PM   #1
Veteran Member

Rokinon/Samyang 14 mm metering?

Hello all,

This is going to a total noob question. I was interested in buying a Rokinon 14mm f/2.8 manual lens for my new Pentax K-3. I looked on Amazon and Bhphoto to see if it does auto-metering but I could not find any details. I know that it is a manual focus lens. I called Rokinon and they said that it is a total "manual" lens and will not have any kind of auto-metering.

So if I were using this lens in manual mode, how do I set the shutter speed for a particular aperture? Will the screen on the back (or the view finder) show the EV scale to help me change shutter speed (or aperture) for proper exposure? Or Do I have to simply guess the right aperture and shutter speed combination based on lighting conditions? Or buy a external light meter and input those values? Any help is highly appreciated.

Thanks.

12-08-2014, 02:17 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
They come with an "A" setting for Pentax. It will meter like a Pentax "A" lens.
12-08-2014, 02:44 PM   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
Yep, they are all KA-compatible.

Ignore any pictures you see of supposed Pentax-mount Samyang/Roki/Bow/etc. lenses that don't have an 'A' setting. Sellers frequently show shots of the Nikon version instead of the Pentax, causing much confusion and distress. Every modern Samyang lens that I have, including the 14mm, is a KA, and they wouldn't make both K- and a KA- versions of their lenses. The K-mount market is small enough without splitting it further.
12-08-2014, 02:50 PM   #4
Veteran Member