Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-23-2008, 12:23 PM   #1

Wide angle: rectilinear or fisheye?

I'm taking a trip this summer with a church group going a trek in the desert (yeah, crazy huh?). I'll be a semi-official photographer for the outing. I've currently got a Pentax K10D with 18-55 kit lens, 50mm 1.7, and 70-300. I also have a cheap tripod. I'd like to rent a super wide angle lens and this trip will a good excuse to do so (Pentax lenses can now be rented from cameralensrentals.com).

My options are these:
Pentax 12-24 f/4
Sigma 10-20 f/4-5.6
Pentax 10-17 f/3.5-4.5 fisheye
Pentax 14 f/2.8

I think the fisheye would be a lot of fun, but I've never used one before and I won't have any time to practice with it before the trip to get a feel for what works and what doesn't with fisheye. However, the distortion isn't that great at the 17mm end and I could correct distortion in post anyway and keep the option open for full 180 degree shots.

Among the rectilinear lenses, I think I'd go with the Sigma to get the widest possible FOV. Though the 14 f/2.8 would be tempting for the extra stops, but I'll be shooting 100% outdoors in the summer time so light shouldn't be an issue, but there's always DoF to consider.

Though the focal lengths are similar for these lenses, the field of view is not. The fisheye covers from 180-100 degrees while the 10-20 has a 102-64 degree spread. So even at the "long" 17mm end of the fisheye, it's field of view is just barely less than the wide end of the 10-20. So I guess I need the fisheye, the 10-20, and my kit lens right?

Your thoughts and opinions would be much appreciated.

05-23-2008, 12:26 PM   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
Remember that you are using a crop sensor. Meaning alot of the fisheye effect might be cropped. 17mm is 24mm etc.
05-23-2008, 12:30 PM   #3

Original Poster
Even so, I think the fisheye effect is still pretty pronounced, for example: