Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
12-12-2014, 07:44 PM   #1

Old lens vs new lens

I am fairly new to digital lens camera's, I used the K1000 film camera for years, I have bought a K-R and use an older SMC Pentax-FA 28-200 lens, my question; is it worth my money to buy the newer DA lens? Will the quality of pictures be enough better for me to spend the money on these lenses?

12-12-2014, 08:07 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

It depends on which lens(es.)

I don't know that the 28-200 has an especially outstanding reputation. Probably more advancements in recent years have happened with zooms, so the relative performance difference in recent zooms vs. older zooms (particularly ambitious zooms, which the 28-200 was in its era) may be more significant than, say, fixed-focal-length lenses from similar generations.

But to me the more important issue is that today, you can get an 18-200 (or 18-250, or 18-300mm) lens that will far exceed the coverage you have now on the wide side. Still one lens (assuming that's what you prefer), but far wider ranging. If we could pry any new lenses out of Tamron, you could even get a 16-300, which would be even more significant - but we can't. Still, 18 is an entirely different experience vs. 28.
12-12-2014, 08:23 PM - 1 Like   #3
Loyal Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
The FA 28-200 is a mediocre at best lens. It is just a rebadged Tamron with SMC coatings. (I have the Tamron version)

The DA 18-135 would likely be better in every way. It covers roughly the same field of view on APS-C as the 28-200 covers on FF.

The DA 35, DA 40 XS, or DA 50 would be major upgrades.
12-12-2014, 08:33 PM - 1 Like   #4
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums