Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-25-2008, 01:39 PM   #1
Veteran Member

31 ltd in the hands of a hack...

Bought my first prime (DA50 1.4) a few weeks ago... liked the lens, mostly the speed for indoor shots. I then started thinking long range to begin charting out a roadmap of potential lenses. After delving into the threads and seeing all the positive feedback re the FA31ltd, I thought at some point this would be a lens to get. Then I thought, because of it's speed, it would probably overlap my only existing prime (the 50). Being very much an amateur, I have an extreme learning curve ahead of me, but I thought if I'm only going to have a limited number of lenses, why have both?...Therefore I returned the DA50 for a full refund and bought a 31ltd.
Yesterday was my first day with it. As mentioned, I am a rookie, but attached is a shot which I think shows the capabilities of this lens even in the hands of a hack. While it is cropped, it was taken in JPEG format without any other changes.
I now have the kit lens (which I will likely put on ebay), a DA 18-250 which I am extremely happy with from a "usefullnes" perspective, and the FA 31. (I think the DA70 is probably next, later this year.)
Thanks to all that have contributed to these threads as it is one heck of a resource library. (Wish me luck.)

Last edited by beaumont; 02-07-2011 at 07:49 PM.
05-25-2008, 02:41 PM   #2
cmv

Great photo to show off the out of focus blur with that lens. You might end up missing the FA50 though but only you can decide that . Right now, I'm missing something in the area of the 31 LTD but so far have resisted the urge.
05-25-2008, 03:02 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Very good skin tone and overall look. Congradulation on the lens.
05-25-2008, 04:35 PM   #4
Veteran Member

Original Poster
[QUOTE=roentarre;252147]Very good skin tone and overall look.