Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-02-2015, 12:16 AM   #1
Forum Member

SMC A 50mm f2.8 macro

Hi , i will be collecting a Pentax SMC-A 50mm f2.8 Macro , i didn't wait to bite when i saw this one coming along.
I will be on the outlook for extension tubes .
But here is my question : i 've read that A lenses make it possible for the camera to meter, right?
So the best for me is to buy automatic extension tubes?
Also , is there a dedicated like macro extender excisting for this lens?
I have no experience with macro extension tubes whatsoever so please inform me what i should be looking for ....thx !!

01-02-2015, 12:27 AM   #2
Administrator
Site Webmaster

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by kurt1968 Quote
So the best for me is to buy automatic extension tubes?
If you can find some, then yes. There are no genuine Pentax tubes with A contacts.

You could also get a bellows unit:
PENTAX Bellows Unit III (K) reviews - Pentax Camera Accessory Review Database

Adam
PentaxForums.com Webmaster (Site Usage Guide | Site Help | My Photography)

PentaxForums.com server and development costs are user-supported. You can help cover these costs by donating or purchasing one of our Pentax eBooks. Or, buy your photo gear from our affiliates, Adorama, B&H Photo, KEH, or Topaz Labs, and get FREE Marketplace access - click here to see how! Trusted Pentax retailers:
01-02-2015, 12:36 AM   #3
Forum Member

Original Poster
Is it very difficult to do macroshots without automatic metering (using plain axtension tubes).
What about difference in magnification , tubes vs bellows?
In town there is a very old shop , i actually saw Pentax bellows new in the box !
01-02-2015, 05:16 AM   #4
Pentaxian

Photos: Albums
Is it very difficult to do macroshots without automatic metering (using plain axtension tubes).
What about difference in magnification , tubes vs bellows?