Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-28-2008, 01:49 PM   #1
Forum Member

Wanted: Advice about scratched lens

Hello dear Pentaxians,

I posted a thread today about miserable me searching for a Pentax-A 35-105 because I already missed twice an auction on Eekaboobay.

Unexpected I got immediately an answer from a dear fellow Forum member, .

I'm offered such a lens (Pentax-A 35-105), but as the seller confesses, there are some scratches on the front lens.
I included a picture the seller send me.
I also did include two pictures taken with this lens by the seller.

Can anybody give me advice about purchasing this lens.
I like such a lens, but I wanted to be really sure that these scratches do not have any influence on the images.
I cannot see any harm is been caused by these scratches to the images, but it could very well be the case that I am too unexperienced to notice. I'm not that experienced (yet) in DSLR.

Do these scratches make this lens a burden to buy of is it only a cosmetically incompleteness???
Please give some comments on this topic. I would be very grateful.

Thank you for your kind attention,

JML

And yes indeed: this is also a Macro Lens: would this change your opinions or judgements?

Attached Images

Last edited by JML; 05-28-2008 at 02:27 PM.
05-28-2008, 01:54 PM   #2

someone once did a trick to me when I was really concerned about a "scratch" on my lens (really really really small nic). He tore off a small piece of a post-it-note and stick it to my lens in some random spot and told me to look through the lens. I didn't even see the post it note.

Now, what does that have to do with anything? There's a good chance you will never notice the scratch on your lens, ever. (macro lenses not included)

But it is a scratch, something permanent, the price should reflect that.
05-28-2008, 01:54 PM   #3
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
QuoteOriginally posted by JML Quote
Hello dear Pentaxians,