Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
01-29-2015, 06:58 AM - 1 Like   #1
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery | Albums
My New Pentax Kit

Some of you may notice that I'm posting & writing more about Pentax lately. I've been using Pentax gear for the last decade (I'm PentaxForums member #10, in fact!) but switched to a Nikon full frame kit for most things starting in 2008. The only Pentax digital bodies I have are the *ist D and an infrared-converted *ist DS.

I started shooting sports professionally, and stopped using the gigantic Nikon kit for pretty much anything else. When I started hiking in 2009, I realized what a hazard it is to have a 3 pound camera with 3-8 pound lenses.

So sometime in 2013 I got a Sony NEX-6 and used it primarily with a Lens Turbo and my Pentax lenses. I realized how much more I used the camera, and also how much better my back felt! Unfortunately I didn't get along with the Sony, its interface and handling was atrocious. Its white balance was hit-or-miss, and its files had little latitude for missed exposure.

Then Fuji announced the X-A1, and I jumped on a super sale for it. What a breath of fresh air! I don't get along with the sideways rear scroll wheel, but everything else was nicely laid out and useful. I had a camera which (like Pentaxes) got out of my way and let me enjoy shooting.

Over the past year, I've been building what I consider to be an ultimate kit: small, light, high-quality lenses. That's why I'm back to Pentax: a set of primes is as small & light as a comparable native mirrorless or adapted rangefinder kit. Coupled with some excellent native Fuji lenses, this makes a great all-purpose kit.

Hopefully this hasn't been too wordy. I just got the 21 & 40 yesterday, so I took them on a (cold) walk. Here are some snaps:

DA21:

DA40:

DA70:

01-29-2015, 07:02 AM - 1 Like   #2
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery