Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-04-2008, 05:34 PM   #1
Veteran Member

super wide angle ? why so pricey ?

Staff note: This post may contain affiliate links, which means Pentax Forums may earn a small commission if a visitor clicks through and makes a purchase. If you would like to support the forum directly, you may also make a donation here.

I am a newbie to SLRs, now the proud owner of a K200D DSLR.
I only have the kit lens right now which is 18-55mm.
I am looking for a wider lens to be able to shoot indoors in cramped locations.

I am looking at a Sigma 10-20 and see that it costs about $500, nearly the same as I paid for the camera ($575 with rebate).... Definitely not in my budget.

Why is it that wide lenses seem to cost so much more than long telephoto ?
Does anyone know where I can get a super wide lens for $200 or less ?

Or alternately, a *good* wide converter to widen the range of DA 18-55 ?

The very cheap Sakar kit-1358 wide converter I tried at Fry's produced way too much vignetting. I set the K200D on a tripod and compared the shot when zooming in just enough to eliminate the vignetting, and not using the converter, but zooming out. There were nearly identical. Except the one with the converter was blurrier. In other words - no extra range at all. And no, I wasn't using the flash, or the lens hood.
This converter was 58mm, with a very thin 52mm adapter mounted on the DA18-55.
Are all wide converters going to give me the same problem ? What kind of converter would actually work ?

(needless to say, the Sakar went back to the store today)

06-04-2008, 06:00 PM   #2
Inactive Account

Wide angle for most DSLR's cost quite a bit in part because of the sensor 'crop'. On a film SLR, 18mm was ULTRA wide. But now it's merely normal wide, as the sensor is smaller than a film plane, and only captures the center portion.