Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-15-2015, 02:22 PM   #1

PENTAX M 50mm

My dad gave me this lens (along with an Super ME) a few years ago and I've just started using it on my new K50. Maybe it's because I'm an absolute beginner, but it seems to be a nice lens. It goes down to f 1.7 and picture quality is far superior to my other lenses. Am I wrong and all my other lenses just a bit rubbish?

04-15-2015, 02:33 PM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
No, it is quite a nice lens. Some will argue that another of the Pentax 50mm is better, there are a good number, but really they are all going to show up nice images. You don't say what other lens you have but a 50mm prime is always going to deliver good results.
04-15-2015, 02:57 PM   #3

Original Poster
I also have a HOYA hmc 135 which I quite like. The others are Vivitar 28mm, Mirage 70-210mm and a Super Albinar SC 85-200mm. When I bought the K-50 it came with a Pentax 18-55 AL, but I'll probably sell that one.

---------- Post added 04-16-15 at 12:06 AM ----------

Thanks for your comment though. It's a bit strange when you have no idea what's considered good and what's not.
04-15-2015, 03:16 PM   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by tingeltangelben Quote
Maybe it's because I'm an absolute beginner, but it seems to be a nice lens. It goes down to f 1.7 and picture quality is far superior to my other lenses. Am I wrong and all my other lenses just a bit rubbish?
It actually is a great lens. Most primes (fixed focal length) lenses from that era are quite good. A lot of people on this forum use a wide variety of older lenses, even third party and adapted lenses.