Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
04-26-2015, 10:21 PM   #1
Forum Member

Photos: Albums
Considering Pentax 28mm F2 as wide angle

Hello Fellow Shutterbugs,

I wanted to ask whether to buy used Pentax 28mm F2. The price is 450 from a private seller. Not sure about it's value as some users raised that issue in the reviews of this lens. Is it as sharp as current new lenses? How is it going to work with digital contacts(as in how do I set aperture/shutter speed and iso). And is it a lens that could be used for landscapes/forests? I am new to landscape area, as I mostly like to do wildlife or simply feature something more than scenery. But I will be traveling to caribbean and wanted to capture sea, picturesque towns, yacht ports, scenery . Also I own the DA40 limited and yes, that one does not fit much into the frame for my taste.

If I buy this lens, am I going to be able to sell it for same price later if I don't enjoy or use it much?

Please let me know your opinion... and thank you!!!

Kat

04-26-2015, 10:50 PM   #2
Pentaxian

The price if you ask me is way too high.

I don't have experience with that exact lens but the F28 f2.8 is an excellent lens.

If you go with a manual lens you use it just like you do any other manual lens on a Pentax body. You set your ISO in the camera body and the rest is done like you are living in 1970.

If you get a more modern lens (like the F28) you have auto focus and you just use it like any other lens.
04-26-2015, 11:14 PM   #3
Pentaxian

Photos: Gallery
I agree with alamo5000 regarding the price. That lens is not easy to find.
If you need manual go for the 28/3.5 for a quarter of that price. Or the A28/2.8 that gives you aperture control.
New you could get the DA21limited or the DA 20-40 which are AF and might be wide enough for your taste.
04-26-2015, 11:23 PM   #4

Which lens are you talking about?

SMC Pentax 28mm F2 Reviews - K Prime Lenses - Pentax Lens Reviews & Lens Database