Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 3 Likes Search this Thread
05-19-2015, 09:44 PM   #31
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
QuoteOriginally posted by fredralphfred Quote
You know, I keep thinking I should look at Sony's or Fuji's catalog for this comparison, but then it occurs to me that those are new mounts, rather than "old" reflex mounts like the K. One thing everyone seems to agree upon is that the flange-back distance makes a HUGE difference in lens size, so those wind up being immediately irrelevant.
I have no great experience with other brands but a quick look at Sony, Canon and Nikon for a 70-200 f/4 shows that Sony weighs 840gm, Nikon 850gm and Canon 771gm. Fuji does not seem to have a 70-200 but they have a 55-200 that weighs 580gm but is slower and variable aperture rather than fixed. Maybe I am looking at this wrong but I think you are making assumptions based on hearsay not facts.

Maybe someone else more familiar with these systems can point out other examples but I do not see that it is automatic that mirrorless lens are smaller or lighter. Maybe you could point out where it is stated that the "flange distance makes a HUGE difference in lens size" as that does not seem to be true as far as I can tell.

05-19-2015, 11:49 PM   #32
Forum Member

QuoteOriginally posted by jatrax Quote
I have no great experience with other brands but a quick look at Sony, Canon and Nikon for a 70-200 f/4 shows that Sony weighs 840gm, Nikon 850gm and Canon 771gm. Fuji does not seem to have a 70-200 but they have a 55-200 that weighs 580gm but is slower and variable aperture rather than fixed. Maybe I am looking at this wrong but I think you are making assumptions based on hearsay not facts.
Fuji have a 50-140 f2.8 which is there equivalent of the 70-210 f4 in 35mm terms. It weights just on 1000g.