Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version 24 Likes Search this Thread
05-21-2015, 07:17 PM   #1
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery
What would you choose, and why?

Where I work they have a service "award" program where they give you points to use in an online catalog. The catalog has many Pentax items, most well above the point range I'm in, and a few that I have no interest in, but there are actually three lenses I could choose that could be useful to me. The lenses are the Rokinon (Samyang) 8mm fisheye, the Rokinon 85/1.4, and the DA 50/1.8. The prospect of adding a free lens to the stable is great, but none of these really excite me. The fisheye could be fun, but I don't think I would use it much, and I would prefer AF. The 85's 1.4 aperture is intriguing but I'm not a portrait artist and just can't see the use of the focal length for myself, and again I would prefer AF. By all accounts the DA50 is a fine lens, but I think 50 is an awkward focal length on APS-C, I have an A-50/1.7 already. Of the three I slightly lean towards the DA50 because of the AF, I would probably use it more than I do the A 50. The 50 also costs less than the other two which would allow me to pick up another item, like a pair of binoculars.

Just for fun, if you had these three choices, what would you pick and why. Remember, these are the only three choices?

05-21-2015, 07:34 PM - 1 Like   #2
Pentaxian

My self, I would pick the DA50 1.8. Like you, I would choose it because of the auto focus plus at this moment in time, it would be a big help with some photos I have been taking of a local band when they play.

I have a F2 50mm A and a F1.7 M but with out changing the focusing screen, I find them hard to use on a moving subject.
05-21-2015, 07:45 PM - 1 Like   #3
Pentaxian

85/1.4 because it sounds cool
05-21-2015, 07:47 PM - 1 Like   #4
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by ramseybuckeye Quote