Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
05-31-2015, 07:35 AM   #1

Long Exposure Shots With K50?

Hi guys , I want to take 2minute+ long exposure shots of waterfalls & rivers with my k50..... few lenses I'm considering right now are 15mm f/4 limited (want to get that wide angle for landscapes) , 18-55 , 18-135 ..... I also want to use ND filters on the lens to get the smooth effect of waters .... now as I'm new to pentax cameras It would be helpful to know

1. Has anybody tried ND filters on the 15mm f/4 limited ... does it work fine for long exposures ?

2. Any suggestion/experience for 18-55+ND filter or 18-135+ND filter ?

3. Can anyone suggest me a remote shutter release specifically for k50? A cheap Chinese one will do ...

Thank you,

05-31-2015, 09:25 AM   #2
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Photos: Albums
I use both a JJC IR release and a JJC wired release. Both are less than $15 on amazon. Both work flawlessly.
05-31-2015, 09:38 AM   #3
Site Supporter
Site Supporter

Haven't tried a ND filter on the 15 Limited. I would go with the 18-135 over the 18-55 if you can afford it, no point it having both unless you want a more compact setup at times. The IQ and AF of the 18-135 is better (and of course the range and WR too). I have some of these variable ND filters: US Fotga Slim Fader Variable ND Filter Adjustable ND2 ND400 43 86mm 58 67 72 77 | eBay and they work fine, actually rated pretty well for their cost, plus you can adjust how dark you want them (like having several ND filters in one). Any Pentax remote shutter release will do, they are pretty inexpensive. Also, if your phone has an IR sensor you can download an app and use your phone as a remote shutter release. This is what I usually use on a whim since I always have my phone with me and am less likely to lose or misplace it.
06-04-2015, 08:16 AM   #4

Original Poster
QuoteOriginally posted by transam879 Quote