Forgot Password
Pentax Camera Forums Home

Show Printable Version Search this Thread
06-04-2015, 10:24 PM   #31
Veteran Member

QuoteOriginally posted by stevebrot Quote
Please explain how design degrades over time.

Seriously.

Steve
It was designed in the film era. Many film era lenses do no hold up well on modern high megapixel digital sensors. The FA 31 does, but none the less it is starting to shows its age. The sigma 18-35 1.8 outperforms it in resolution at larger apertures. Its a legend, but an aging one that is increasing less impressive compared to more modern designs, especially wide open.

06-05-2015, 12:58 AM - 2 Likes   #32
Veteran Member

Photos: Gallery
well, I had LBA and it ends with the FA 31mm, that's how good it is ! (https://www.pentaxforums.com/forums/6-pentax-dslr-discussion/277257-how-cure-lba.html)
I'm a total newbie but very demanding in term of sharpness & focus accuracy, I find the FA77 is easier to nail the focus, the FA 31 is a little harder to nail the focus, but it's totally doable. Just play a little more with your lens and you'll find out why it's a legend ^^
A humble example at f1.8 with available light :
06-05-2015, 02:26 AM - 2 Likes   #33
Site Supporter
Loyal Site Supporter

Photos: Gallery | Albums
I reckon it goes alright too. There is something about the focal transition and the quality of the out of focus areas. The bottom two are at f/1.8 - I would say they are acceptably sharp.

06-05-2015, 07:27 AM   #34

Original Poster
As an update, whether the stars aligned or not, I wasn't able to return the lens online last night as the order number was not available. I would have to wait till the morning to start the process.

Since I still had it this morning I decided to give it one last shot to see if I could get the lens to AF correctly, thereby letting me get to actually use the benefits of this lens.